My Japanese Husband Still Thinks I’m Crazy – Book Review

Hello, everyone!
It’s been quite a while since my last post and I’m terribly sorry for being inactive for such a long period of time. School is taking a lot of time and I feel like I need to reorganize my schedule. It’d really make my life a lot easier. Also, I could make use of the “schedule post” function the platform has, but then again, with the little time I had at my disposal, I didn’t get to write a single thing.
A lot has happened recently, one of the major things being my mom’s unexpected visit. Unfortunately, she didn’t manage to stay much, but even so, the time we spent together was good enough for me. It’s pretty difficult sometimes, when you’re far away from your family. However, for a loner like me, that isn’t as inconvenient as one may think. Not to mention that we still live in the same country at the moment.

Sometimes, I really wonder how everything would be like if say, I’d live across the ocean or the sea, or any other place than my current location. It’s quite a dream, isn’t it? Speaking of which, Grace from Texan in Tokyo, one of my favourite blogs, by the way, is actually “living the dream” in Japan and sharing some of her experiences with her readers.
Actually, a couple of days ago, her second book, “My Japanese Husband Still Thinks I’m Crazy”, came out. Now, I’m following Texan in Tokyo for quite a while (discovered her blog in November, I think) and I have to say that her posts are wonderful. Needless to say that I was extremely eager for her book to be published.
http://www.amazon.com/Japanese-Husband-STILL-Thinks-Crazy/dp/0990773698
Her book cover.
And I was lucky enough to get a copy before it came out, too.
What is the book about? You may wonder. As the title suggests, the book illustrates, literally, the everyday life of an American young lady who’s married to a Japanese salaryman, which spreads from adventures in the open air (like Ibaraki and Hakone) to her life as a blogger and writer, along with the struggles a foreigner usually goes through when they start living in a different country/culture. Despite its subtitle, “the comic book”, this particular book also integrates full articles in which Grace is explaining some of the quirks of living in Japan, such as, for instance, the custom of pregnant wives of living with either their own parents or their in-laws, depending on whoever is closer, during the pregnancy.

Although, at a first glance, the book may look really simplistic, it is actually not. When I first received the copy, I couldn’t help (despite the late hour) but flip through the pages for a while and see how it is. I could very well describe it as “love at first sight”.

http://howibecametexan.com
Isn’t this cute?
Like any other book, this one, as well, opens with a foreword (no, I’m lying. It actually starts with a lovely dedication) written by no other than her wonderful husband, Ryosuke, which foreword is really well-written and delicate. Then, there is an explanation on how to read the book, which, in my opinion is one of the nicest things an author can do. I seldom see such indications in a book and sometimes I wonder what exactly is the writer trying to say. Well, no more such questions here. You can’t get confused any more.
Moving on, as you get past the “explaining” chapter, you come across comics – the first one being rather representative, as it’s strongly connected to the book’s title. Obviously, the book continues with more comics and along the way there are some articles inserted, which aim at explaining some of the customs in Japan or other things that the author struggled with.
Content actually varies, as you can easily notice, and so does the tone it is written in. Or maybe “drawn” fits better. Most of the “stories”, like 80-90% I’d say, are extremely funny and instantly make you laugh or at least smile. The rest, however, deal with more serious topics, such as stereotypes, pros and cons of moving abroad for the sake of love, celebrations in Japan and many more. You’d be surprised to discover that even though the book is mainly aimed at entertaining one, it is actually offering useful tips and tricks for everyday life as well. And when I say everyday life I mean “life” in general, regardless of where you live.
There really are a lot of fun surprises awaiting to be discovered as you flip through the pages. You’ll most certainly enjoy her unique drawing style as it’s extremely cute (also pretty similar to manga), as well as her delicate, soft writing style. The whole book, to put it shortly, is nothing more and nothing less than a transcription of her personality, an extension of her lovely mind and soul.
http://howibecametexan.com
Meet Marvin too!

 

To conclude, I really recommend checking out Grace’s book, as it is a marvellous read, especially on days when you don’t feel like doing much. It is really inspiring and can actually act as some sort of push-up for you. It really filled me up with energy.

Oh, I was about to forget. You can order the book from Amazon. Also, you should really check out her blog, Facebook page and Youtube. Granted, you’ll have a lot of fun.

PS: Both “My Japanese Husband Thinks I’m Crazy: The Comic Book” and “My Japanese Husband (still) Thinks I’m Crazy” are FREE to download on Amazon for the next five days!

 

One thought on “My Japanese Husband Still Thinks I’m Crazy – Book Review

Drop me a line.

